Liebster Award

I knew a day would come when someone would nominate me for one of these, and it’s been a while since that happened. Several reasons kept me from doing this post, but today is the day you will always remember as… Uh, you know what? I can’t pull that dialogue off.

liebster-lg

The kind person who nominated me for this award is libbyvine, who runs a blog about children’s books. Do check it out and share the love. 🙂

The rules are:

  1. Thank your nominator
  2. Show the award on your blog
  3. Answer 10 questions asked to you
  4. Ask 10 questions to 10 new nominees (who have less than 200 followers)
  5. Notify them

 

Without further ado, let’s jump into the Q&A part. Facing a slight writer’s block *shudder*, I’ve decided to answer as many of them as possible with images.

1) What city/town do you currently live in?

Bengaluru, Karnataka, India.

 

2) What book are you currently reading?

3) Who is your greatest living hero and why?

Well, this one is difficult to answer because a lot of people I idolise are no more. I’m going with J. K. Rowling because she’s my second favourite fantasy author and her rise to fame hasn’t been easy. I’m not hoping to become as famous as her, but I find her writing worth emulating.

4) How many books do you hope to read this year?

50, as a part of the Goodreads challenge this year.

5) Where would you like to go on vacation?

Middle-Earth! However, it’s fictional *sigh*, so I’ll settle for the picturesque New Zealand.

6) Which is your favorite children’s book character? Why?

Frederick Algernon “Fatty” Trotteville from Enid Blyton’s Five Find-Outers and Dog. He’s witty, a natural leader, generous, clever at disguising himself, a ventriloquist, a skilled poet and orator. He wants to grow up and be a detective. He’s also very humorous and puts Mr. Goon in his place often. As a child, the character fascinated me a lot and I longed to be as intelligent as him.

7) Do you read paper books or e-reader?

A bit of both, actually. I’ve been reading e-books on my phone a lot these days, but I don’t own a Kindle device. Given a choice between a paperback and an e-book, I’d definitely pick up the physical copy.

8) Where do you like to read?

My reading nook is my bed in my room.

 

For illustrative purposes.

 

9) Please recommend your favorite book you read last year in 2015

10) Why should readers follow your blog?

Can I just skip this one, please?

I’d say it’s because you don’t come across a lot of 20-year-olds who write and aspire to become a novelist, much less one who blogs regularly not to earn money or for publicity, but simply to spread the joy of writing, and a follow will go a long way in encouraging such an individual.

Phew! Now for the easier portion. Here is the list of people who I’ve nominated:

4unansweredprayers

All These Prompts

Mark Draycott Author

Muse n’ Motivation

New. Novel.

Painting Daisies

Shweta Rao

The Cheesy Engineer

Nerdsakhi

Freckles and Florence

The set of questions that the 10 ‘Chosen Ones’ are to answer:

  1. What inspired you to start your blog?
  2. What does your name mean? If you’re not using your real name, what’s the story behind your username?
  3. What is your comfort food?
  4. What is your favourite book/series and what is one unique thing about it?
  5. As a child, what profession fascinated you?
  6. Which city do you think is the most beautiful in the world?
  7. If you were to become a superhero, what power would you like to have?
  8. What’s the nicest comment you’ve received about your blog/writing till now?
  9. Which song is stuck in your head as of now?
  10. If you could watch only one movie henceforth, which would you choose?

 

Well, this was fun! Dear reader, please do go through these blogs. I’ve only selected those that have less than a 100 followers, yet churn out some excellent content.  I follow them all and believe that they deserve to be recognised.

17 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Congrats, Nandini! 🙂 I’d also love to go to New Zealand one day, and J.K. Rowling is one of my favorite authors too.

    What do you think of the Mistborn series so far? I haven’t started reading it yet, but I’ve heard it’s really good.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Oh, it’s always nice to know that someone likes the same things that I do. 🙂
      I finished The Final Empire over the weekend and have read 4 chapters of The Well of Ascension. The magic system is unique and the characters are wonderful. The writing is good and it’s very hard to put down. The only fault I can find is the ‘he said, she said’ kind of dialogue. As a fantasy lover, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I hope you find the time to read it too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well, I think any fan of the LOTR films has New Zealand on their list of places to visit someday. 😉 Actually, one of my best friends in college studied there for a semester abroad – and ended up moving there after we graduated!

        Nice! I definitely want to check out Brandon Sanderson’s work (I haven’t ready any of this books yet *blushes*). So it’s encouraging to hear you’ve really enjoyed the Mistborn series so far.

        Like

Leave a comment