Fictional Fridays #9

I wrote another 200 words this week, but getting the exact word count was quite a challenge. I don’t know how to take this further, so feel free to offer some advice in the comments. Also, I hope that this comes as a surprise after where I stopped last time. If you haven’t read that, check it out here – Fictional Fridays #8.

Alive by Night – Part 2

He made his way to the writing table and sank into his chair, trying to figure out a better course of action. That is when he became aware of a second voice that spoke in soothing tones, a complete contrast to the hysterical woman’s.

“You will always belong with us, Page 53. I can’t imagine why the author crumpled you up!”

“R-r-reall-y?”

“Yes. And there is life beyond the confines of the dustbin, trust me. A better life, I’ll bet. No need to cry, dear.”

The weeping shut off abruptly. “That’s easy for you to say, Title Page. This will never happen to you.”

“Life is unpredictable, 53. You never know when our creator might suddenly feel disheartened and throw out the entire manuscript. I’ve heard rumours that it has happened before. My fate is just as uncertain as yours. You shouldn’t be so hard on yourself.”

“I don’t understand at all. 52 and 54 aren’t here with me. I thought I was fitting in well, you know? I’ll admit I have flaws, but am I beyond repair?”

 “Don’t measure your worth by the writer’s standards. If you ask me, I think you’re perfect.” There was a crinkling of paper.

old-books-candle-7652605-e1358035452434


The idea for this came to me when I was looking for objects to personify. Also, writers often feel worthless when their stories are rejected by a publisher, but there are a lot more unfinished ones that will never see the light of day because authors find it easy to give up on their projects. I believe that all stories, no matter how simple, deserve to be told and that’s how this little piece happened. I’d be delighted to hear your thoughts on it, so please do leave a comment if you feel like sharing.

3 thoughts on “Fictional Fridays #9

Leave a Reply

