The Inspiration Circle – June ’16

Update: I’m trying out a new series of posts that I’d like to turn into a monthly feature.

It’s always hard to come up with post ideas that are fresh, unique and turn out exactly as you pictured it in your head. In all honesty, that is a level of perfection that nobody has ever achieved. Several revisions and editing phases later, a new post looks nothing like the skeletal draft it once was and every truthful author will admit that somewhere in the back of their mind is a nagging voice that whispers it could be better as they hit the ‘Publish’ button. It can be quite a daunting task for a beginner to pay no heed to that voice and make their mark in the ocean of bloggers that the Internet is currently drowning in.

At times, it’s easy to let go and skip a post because of fatigue, other commitments or plain ol’ laziness. I admit that I’ve been guilty of that several times this month, which in turn has left me with quite an average month to look back on in terms of numbers. It’s no secret that blogging consistently and churning out quality content is the only path to success in this field. However, there are days on which it seems utterly insignificant compared to all the other things going on in life. Or maybe you just fell into a writing slump. This is a post tailor-made for those days, to inspire and re-ignite that creative spark.

Inspiration

The Quote

It’s wonderful how an influential person’s words can be uplift one’s spirits to the point of changing one’s life completely. I’ll start off with a classic.

If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.

– Toni Morrison

The Article

If you’re a fledgling writer (or an established one) and you haven’t heard of Writer’s Digest, now is the time to fix that. It’s a website and magazine that curates the best advice from around the world on every step of the writing process. I peruse the site quite frequently when I need inspiration or looking for something specific and it has never disappointed me. Here I’m linking to an article by Jessica Strawser written almost 4 years ago but continues to be relevant even now.

Inspiration for Writers: How to Be More Creative (Published October 16, 2012)

The Talk

Not the kind of person who has the patience to dig through another long piece? Worry not, because I have just the thing lined up for you.

The Secret to Creativity

This is a video by one of my school friends who has a modest but wonderful YouTube channel. I make it a point to watch all her videos because she’s amazing in front of a camera (unlike me) and always has something unique to say. The one I’m linking to talks about that one thing anybody in the creative field would love to know and she does a great job of explaining it, drawing on her own experiences to drive home her point.

General Inspiration

7906503_orig

For me that would be finishing at least one of the books that’s been sitting on my ‘Currently Reading’ shelf in Goodreads for almost a year. Completing the Reading Challenge this year would definitely be something my future self would thank me for (Interested to know what they are? Find me on Goodreads here).


Alas, all good things come to an end and so much this post. Which of the above did you find most inspiring? Would you like to see this kind of a post on a monthly basis? What is your way to stay inspired? Let me know via the comments section.

6 thoughts on “The Inspiration Circle – June ’16

  1. I really can’t think of a time when I haven’t had anything to write about. I mean, if I don’t fancy writing, I just don’t write and if I have a post due (the various participation posts I take part in; SoCS, one liner Wednesday, etc) I just make something up, it’s not difficult.
    And I very rarely edit anything, either, (except for correcting typos and grammar, which I do as I go along) since my posts are almost always made up as I write them and I tend to edit in my head, before typing it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Then you must share what inspires you to write! Most people get stuck after a point. Prompts are great, but sometimes I don’t just feel it. I haven’t done the SoCS post this weekend because of that. Of course there’s always something new to write about but once I start writing I either give up because the words just won’t flow or I realise that what I had to say about the topic was very little after all. Even this post was initially about something else entirely.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Inspiration?
    I wouldn’t know where to start, I just make stuff up and write it down. I’ve never really thought about where it comes from or what other people will think of it, I only do it to amuse myself, really, so if anyone else finds it entertaining, that’s just a bonus as far as I’m concerned.

    Like

  3. “For me that would be finishing at least one of the books that’s been sitting on my ‘Currently Reading’ shelf in Goodreads for almost a year.” That kind of sums up what a lot of us face. Aside from actually writing, we have books (actual and online), articles, WP blog posts, and a zillion other things to read. There is downside to having access to a plethora of writings. And writings about writing. And writings about writings about writing. And I’m just talking about the good stuff, like what your blog post link to.

    The challenge is to find a way to distill (is that the right word? maybe, translate needs to be in there somewhere) what’s out there without overwhelming those who are eager to read something new, but in all reality already have their proverbial nightstand tipping over with stuff to read.

    Because I’ll be honest here…there are a lot of times I follow people’s link only to read something rather banal and I get into that “well, there’s two minutes of my life I won’t get back” moods. Pardon if this has turned into a rant of sorts, but it may have something to do with being brought to some essays on poetry and the humanities by Marjorie Perloff that just made so clear how low we set the bar on discourse about art, society, the role of the artist that I can in this quick moment only call the Facebooking of discourse. Or maybe we’ve always been this way and it social media is just bringing to light the Twitter-ness of our collective intelligence.

    So in a long about (boisterous) way, a monthly post dedicated, IN PART, to raising the bar. Things worth digesting (no pun intended), but will take more than thirty seconds to do so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

