The Reader in Me

I intend to keep this post short because I just received some devastating news and it has totally put me off. However, I made myself a promise that I won’t skip a day in September, so here is the customary Monday post, the last for the September Reading Month.

srm-poster

21 Facts About Me As a Reader

  1. I usually read on my bed.
  2. I never stay in any one position for more than an hour.
  3. I forget to drink water when I’m reading and emerge from a book hours later with a dry throat.
  4. I have lost a lot of sleep due to books because some are just that good.
  5. I absolutely cannot multi-task when I’m reading.
  6. I prefer physical books to e-books.
  7. I don’t own a Kindle.
  8. My favourite genre is fantasy.
  9. The Lord of the Rings changed my life.
  10. I have read the entire Twilight series.
  11. I desperately need the next book in The Kingkiller Chronicles.
  12. I have never given a one-star rating to any book because I don’t want to hurt the author or his/her sales of the book no matter how bad I felt it was.
  13. I have never DNF-ed a book.
  14. I own very few copies of actual books.
  15. The first work of fiction I remember buying is The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.
  16. One world I would love to revisit is the Wizarding World by J. K. Rowling, especially the Marauders’ era.
  17. I believe that the books are always better than the movies.
  18. I dream that one day a famous author will reply to my tweet.
  19. I want to read more books on writing, probably starting with On Writing.
  20. I prefer novels to short stories.
  21. I’ve finished 41 out of 50 books on my Goodreads challenge for this year.

2015-12-15 19.09.05.jpg2015-12-15-19-07-20


What fact can you relate to most? Also, if you want to reveal your reading habits, head to the Comments section below. Better yet, do your own post and link back to mine if you feel like. I’d love it if this became a thing on the blogosphere!

16 thoughts on “The Reader in Me

  1. Hope everything is OK.
    I do not own a Kindle too, though my son had presented one to the family one Christmas. Gathering dust somewhere. I still like physical books.

    I had left the stage of #4 in your list long time back but do remember vividly the days ( sorry, nights)reading with a flashlight under the quilt ( hiding from my elder brother with whom I used to share a room).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a cool post. I agree with number 12. I think I’ve given a book or two a two-star rating before, but I always feel bad. It’s only my opinion whereas there are plenty of people who may disagree with me.
    Also, I hope everything is okay on your end or it gets better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. #4 has happened to me a few times. I’m also like you on #s 5 through 9 and 11. πŸ˜‰ As for where I read… I can read just about anywhere, but my favorite place at home is the “comfy chair” in my bedroom.

    On a separate note, I hope everything is going OK. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t have a Kindle, but a Barners & Noble Nook, but I hardly read on there. Physical books are SO much better, Books are always better than movies!!!! I’m 4 books behind schedule on Goodreads but I’m hoping to catch-up soon πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: The Reader in Me – Life. Dreams. Hopes and Happiness.

Leave a Reply

