The Nature of Excess

Surplus. Overindulgence. Superabundance. Extravagance. Immoderation. Call it what you will, humans seem to be particularly susceptible to the allure of excess. Perhaps it’s the just all the excess room inside the skull that sets us apart from the other species. Or is it the rules of the society that bestows power on the one who possesses an abundance of whatever is valuable at that particular time in history? Maybe it’s just shameless self-indulgence, a series of biochemical reactions that makes one crave for more.

Whatever the reason, satisfaction has become a rare commodity, for everyone wants more of something or the other. The poor just want money to survive, the ill just need more care, a company wants more profit, a man (or woman) wants more happiness. We all can rattle off at least five things off the top of our head that would make our lives easier/better if we had more of them.

But where does one draw the line? When does desire turn into greed? When does an absence of self-restraint spell doom? What invisible line does one cross and turn from ambitious to insatiable? The warning signs are always there for those observant enough to look. An excess of nocturnal activity manifests as dark circles, an excess of toxins as diseases, an excess of pollution as global warming and so forth.

However, we continue to ignore them, either by being blind to the problems or feigning indifference. Do we wait until our daydreams turn into nightmares or do we rip the blindfold and act before our actions have implications beyond our control? Is it a matter that we leave to the hands of time to decide or do we cut our losses while we still can? For we are never the heroes we think ourselves to be.

Word count: 300

monday-musings


I have absolutely no idea what that’s supposed to be. All I know is I wrote a random heading and words just appeared on screen, as if by themselves. But, as always, let me know what you think in the comments section below and have yourselves a nice week. πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “The Nature of Excess

  1. This reminds me of the nonfiction book I’m currently reading: Inviting a Monkey to Tea by Nancy Colier. The title sounds funny, but it’s about content, well-being, the importance of meditation, and learning to turn off the self-destructive chatter in your mind so you can attain the former items. Part of the book also talks about happiness and how sometimes trying to search for it or create it ourselves can actually detrimental. I agree with that, and I see a bit of that in this post.

    Sometimes we forget to be grateful for the things we already have. We focus too much on materialism – having the latest technology, obtaining the latest trends in other areas, showing off our status in other ways – when money and physical items are usually temporary. I personally make a conscious effort to stay within a set budget every month. So as a result, I willingly live without a lot of things that other people have every day: a smartphone (my phone could be a smartphone, but I choose not to have Internet, apps, or social media capabilities on it), tablet, lots of TV channels (though HBO is the only exception), a big house, etc. And maybe because of those choices, I’m happy – or content, rather – to live in my small condo and stay within those limitations to avoid so much excess. And if I lived more excessively, I have no idea where all of it would go… so what would be the point then?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I think chasing after materialistic things makes forget to be thankful for whatever we already have. I admire your resolve and strength to have such constraints and live within them. It just goes to show that having more does not necessarily mean more happiness or contentment.
      I think that my upbringing made all the difference for me. I have learnt not to spend extravagantly just because we can afford something and only have as much as I need to go about my life comfortably. If I could have everything I fancied, I don’t think my list of wishes would have an end and I’d never be happy with what I already have.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “If I could have everything I fancied, I don’t think my list of wishes would have an end and I’d never be happy with what I already have.”

        That’s a good point. If we develop a habit of spending and obtaining everything we want, we might not recognize when to stop – and that can have all kinds of consequences, both psychological and financial.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Um. Wow. Just…Wow.
    Firstly, I never realised what an amazing writer you are. I mean, of course, I knew that you had an amazing writing talent (your blog posts evidently show that) but this was just one level higher. I cannot even believe what i just read. I didn’t even know that someone could write THIS GOOD!

    Secondly, GAHHH, I AGREE WITH THIS SO MUCH OMIGOSH! I loved this line “Do we wait until our daydreams turn into nightmares or…” It was just AMAZING! Like blew my mind!
    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOVVEEE IT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thank you so much! πŸ™‚ I was so unsure how this would be received. Your comment made my day. 😁
      Actually, this is was a stream of consciousness kind of post. It’s as close to putting my actual thoughts into words as it can get. And I’m so afraid people can’t relate to these sort of thoughts I get or that they will disagree with me, so I never posted this kind of stuff. Maybe I will do more after what you said. πŸ™‚
      P. S. I’m still blushing.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha. Your last line floored me. We should talk about the second episode elsewhere. Are you on Twitter?
        Yes, it is hard. Even I have the same issues and it’s heightened because if I showed this to my friends, they’d probably say this was the most uninteresting piece they’ve ever read. I’m so glad I have a blog so I can reach a wider audience who get what I’m trying to say. Thanks again for your kind comments. They really mean a lot. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

