Writing & Reading Wrap-Up – Jan 2017

Remember my writing plan from two weeks ago? (It’s okay if the answer is no, you can check it out here.) I did promise a monthly writing wrap-up along with it, but I decided to add reading to it as well. Since I have a separate book blog, I will mention my reading only briefly here andΒ leave links to my posts on that blog if you want to read further. With that introduction out of the way, let’s check on my progress (or lack of it).

monthly-writing-reading-wrap-up

Writing

1. Finish Good to Be a Little Bad

Sigh. I have zero progress to report on this front. I was all geared up to do it before I realised I’ve lost all my notes and the TV show from my laptop when I got a new one last year, so I have absolutely no idea what to do next. I can borrow the TV show from friends of course, but going through whatever I’ve already written and then figuring out where to go from there is going to take months what with the million other things I’ve to do. Maybe I can try this again for the April Camp NaNoWriMo.
Report: Abject failure

2. Finish character sketches for Uncut

I didn’t do quite what I had planned to. This is why I never made plans before, but I did make progress, so it’s not as bad as the first one. I took a fun personality quiz as my characters and found out their Myers-Briggs personality types. I still haven’t completed the character arcs, but I did get a better understanding of my characters.
Report: Partial success

3. Plan the short stories for my blog

I have a plan for the whole month of February, for which I’m definitely going to pat myself on the back. I’m planning to sit down and write the whole story in one weekend and post it in parts throughout the next month, but I’m not sure if I can find such a big block of time. I have a solid idea that I’ve been polishing in my head for quite a few days now and it’s exciting because it is definitely better than nothing.
Report: Mission accomplished!


Reading

I’ve managed to read 10 books already this month and I couldn’t be happier (I’ll finish #11 tonight). Of course, two are novellas and one of them is a special short story feature, but everything counts towards my Goodreads goal of 70 books this year, so I’m considering them too. All my free time has been taken over by reading these days. Apart from Sherlock, which I wouldn’t miss for the world, I’ve not seen any new TV show or completed old ones.

One reason might be NetGalley, which I joined recently. For those who don’t know, it is a website where readers can request for ARCs (e-books only) in return for a review. I still have 8 more novels to finish, with release dates ranging from January to May this year. Since I’m a conscientious reader, I want to finish them all as close to their release dates as possible and so, I’ve been reading at breakneck speeds. By the end of February, I think I’ll have caught up on that pile so I can move on to doing different things with my free time.

I have reviewed Passenger and Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken, The Blazing Star by Imani Josey and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (movie and the original screenplay) on my blog this month. I also started a new book meme, Top Three Thursdays (check it out here if it sounds interesting). For all the other books I’ve read, visit my Goodreads profile.

reading-jan-2017


What an interesting first month of a new year! It’s been good mostly, but I also need to work on the things that I couldn’t finish in the coming months. How did January treat you? I’d love to hear about it in the comments section below. Happy weekend! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Writing & Reading Wrap-Up – Jan 2017

  1. 😦 I’m so sorry about Good To Be A Little Bad. I’d feel the same way if I made the same discovery with any of my own stories. But your plan for starting over… it’s the only thing you can do, and at least the ideas are salvageable. And who knows? Maybe the second “first draft” will be better than the first one.

    Your “character sketches for Uncut” goal reminded me that I need to work on my profiles for some of The Novella’s supporting characters. Most of them are completely new (a.k.a. did not appear in TKC), so I still need some time to get to know them. I got a good start on them during my December vacation… but haven’t touched them since then. It’s SO hard to balance character profile building with the desire to actually write – but you have to figure it out somehow.

    Reading-wise… I’m off to a so-so year. This past weekend I decided to DNF the book I’d rented from the library. So now I’m about to start Rae Carson’s The Girl of Fire and Thorns, and I’m hoping it won’t continue the trend, especially since I’ve enjoyed her other series so far.

    Btw thank you again for last week’s Vocab Wednesday. I’m feeling much better now. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope so. I’ll see what I can salvage. πŸ™‚
      Oh, I’m still quite behind on the character sketches. It seems that I’m not that good at following through with my plans. πŸ˜” But I’ll try to catch up and start writing soon. It’s very hard to work on different aspects of the WIP besides writing, like you said.
      I’m glad to hear. Happy writing with The Novella! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • “It seems that I’m not that good at following through with my plans.”

        I have that problem sometimes, too… though my version is that I tend to have *too many* ideas or plans, and therefore don’t have enough time for all of them. :S

        Thank you! I’m actually more than 9k through The Novella – though I’m also only in Chapter 3 (with bits and pieces started in Chapters 4 and 5). Still, this first draft will be well over 40K when it’s done – and I keep having to remind myself, “You always go long on your first drafts. It’s OK. Just keep writing, and edit during Draft #2.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, yes. Too much is too bad sometimes, lol. That’s good progress though. Like you pointed out, you can always trim down during the other drafts as the first one is all about getting the story down on paper. Hope you keep up the good work! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

