Changes Are Coming

On this day, two years ago, I made a decision that brought a sense of purpose, joy and a whole lot of friends into my life. Looking back I realise that I haven’t always stuck to it as regularly as I’d have liked to, but I’ve gained so much from it that I cannot see myself stopping any time soon. On this day, two years ago, I started a blog called Pages That Rustle.

Happy SecondBlog Anniversary

First order of business, of course, is to thank my faithful readers. Whether you have followed this blog since its inception or you’re a recent addition to the followers list, I’m grateful to you from the bottom of my heart for spending your valuable time reading whatever I have to say. Even while I was on a hiatus last month, I would still get notifications of more people following the blog, which came as a pleasant surprise to me. I’d like to extend a warm welcome to everyone who is new here. Time for cupcakes, everyone! ๐Ÿ˜€ (This is the part where you go and get yourself something sweet to eat, preferably a cupcake. But if you like something savoury, you’re more than welcome to nibble on your favourite snack. Oh, and do remember to come back for the rest of the post.)

Moving on to more serious business, there are some tough decisions to make regarding the future of this blog. As I mentioned in my Monday post, I’m done with my undergraduate studies. I will most probably be starting work from July. That would leave me with little or no time to write, except on weekends. Also, I haven’t written fiction in the longest time and had decided to discontinue Fictional Fridays in my March Wrap-up post. Some of you might know that I started a book blog in January on Tumblr called Unputdownable Books. I used to post frequently on that as well, but on Tuesdays and Thursdays, which are my “off days” from here. However, I’ve come to realise that Tumblr isn’t a good platform for book blogs and stats have been quite disappointing so far. I’m considering changing platforms, which leaves me with a few options. Now, I need your help to decide what’s best for the blog.

These are the only ones I’ve thought about as of now. I honestly can’t promise I’ll strictly follow whatever is decided from July and might have to alter it if it’s getting too much, but I will keep this up until the end of June at the very least. If you have any other suggestions, please let me know in the comments section below. Also, I’d really appreciate it if you could leave a comment after voting in the poll to let me know why you think I should choose that particular option. Thanks in advance and wish you a happy weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

24 thoughts on “Changes Are Coming

  1. I chose option 1, simply because I think having 2 blogs is quite hard to manage. I think having a central point for all your thoughts, gives you the best results. The coming up with whatever you want bit, I think you should do whatever you like. Also, posting every day is a bit much so maybe you should loosen your schedule if you’re busy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your input, Mahriya. ๐Ÿ™‚ I agree that having a single blog is much easier to maintain. My only reservation was that then it would turn into a book + writing blog and would lose its niche, so to speak. I really needed the input of a book blogger to see if integrating both is a good idea.
      As for posting every day, I’m going to schedule a few of them before July if I do choose this option, especially the vocabulary posts. Hopefully that will help me keep to my schedule, but as I said, I can’t really promise anything at this point.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I voted for option #2 though option #3 is good too. I guess it would just depend on how many people you could get interested in writing for Flash Fiction Friday and how reliable they would be. It’s a lot of fun to read flash fiction, so it’s a great thing to add to your blog. But it can be a lot of work (I don’t think I’ve written a new piece of flash fiction since I started writing The Hashna Stone ๐Ÿ˜€ ),
    Whether you do flash fiction or not, I definitely think that combining the two blogs is a good idea. It will be easier to manage and more content is always a good thing. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Whatever you decide, I will always be a fan! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Megan! ๐Ÿ™‚ Most of the time, I keep thinking about more options rather than make a decision (there are 7 on this poll!), so I needed a few opinions to help me out. I haven’t yet decided about the flash fiction. But thanks for your support no matter what. I definitely needed that. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

  3. NANDINI! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve been so, so busy this week, so I haven’t had a lot of time to visit friends’ blogs. So I’m glad to see you’re back, though it sounds like I’ll need to catch up with your Monday post.

    I know exactly how you feel regarding uncertainty about your blog’s future. It’s something I’ve dealt with more than once with my own. So, to be honest, however YOU decide to continue blogging is fine with me. It’s important that you choose a frequency and approach that works for you, I did vote for Option #4, since I always love talking about books. But, like I said, it’s up to you, and I’m sure you’ll pick the best path forward for the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m rather bad at deciding making, hence the poll. Maybe I can experiment for a month or so to see if my new frequency and post ideas work. I think I will be integrating the two blogs on here, since everyone seems to be wanting that. However, I’m yet to decide what and when to post, so I’ll need a few days’ time to figure that out. Thanks for your input and your unconditional support! โค

      Liked by 1 person

      • Experimenting is never a bad thing. Sometimes it takes a few tries / weeks to know what works best for you. So whatever you choose with our help, I look forward to seeing what you’ve got in store for us. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey Nandini.
    I don’t think you should feel pressured to post every day. Sometimes life gets in the way and missing/skipping a few days here and there isn’t going to end the world. You don’t have to post everyday if you can’t. Figure out how your work schedule will look and either schedule future posts or do what you can when you can. We’ll still pop in when you have a new post.

    Also, the blog is a hobby and an extension of your love for writing and books. If it’s not fun anymore then something has to change a bit. Sure there’s hard work, as with anything, but at the end of the day you are doing this out of your own volition so enjoy the process.

    Whatever you decided, I’ll still be around to support you ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I chose option 2. As you know, I post book reviews on my blog once a week. I had originally thought of starting a separate book blog, but I don’t read nearly as much to have a consistent review schedule. I don’t know how it would be for you, but I would definitely start small, especially if you’re starting work. Balancing writing, reading, blogging, and work is not fun (unfortunately, lol).
    I would definitely try to keep writing despite how busy you are. Don’t let your schedule stop you from doing that. So, continue the fictional Fridays with your friend and add book reviews to this blog once a week or on occasion or whenever you decide. That will give your blog some extra variety as well as a consistent posting schedule which does wonders for your readers. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Rachel! ๐Ÿ™‚ As someone who maintains different blogs and posts consistently, I really needed someone with that experience to help me out. I’m trying to integrate both on an experimental basis now and will see how it goes from there.
      Balancing writing, blogging and work is going to be very hectic. I don’t know if I can keep it up once I start. We’ll see how it goes. I honestly don’t know how you do it all. You’re amazing! โค Thanks for your views on this. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Writing blog posts ahead of time will help, too. I spend every Thursday and Sunday working on both my blogs. You just have to get into a good groove with it and find the right schedule for yourself without burning yourself out. You’ll be able to do it. ๐Ÿ™‚
        No problem, let me know if I can help with anything!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

