The Inevitability of Mondays

This is a stream of consciousness post. If you’re new to the concept, please Google it. Typically, this is where I would do my job of being a good writer and include an explanation for those unfamiliar with it, but I don’t have the energy for it. Neither do I have the energy to insert a fancy photograph with the title of the post that I usually make with Canva. My excuse is the same. I’m unable to get up and walk the three steps it takes from my room to my desk where my personal laptop rests. What all of the schooling and college life doesn’t teach you is how exhausting Mondays can be.

1a5cbf7e411c5f64ea4a26bae101ac23

Sure, I used to dread the unstoppable Monday as it ticked ever closer and meant that I had to endure another week of waking up earlier than I’d have liked to. Naively, I thought that that was hard. It’s only been a week into corporate life and I’m exhausted to my bones already. Not only is it unusual to pay attention for hours together when bombarded with information that might make or break your career, the commute drains you with every inch you manage to move in traffic.

This is probably a problem unique to Bangaloreans. The roads are in an atrocious state of disrepair and it’s physically draining to the point of being harmful to your spine as you zoom through them. The number of vehicles, the incessant honking, the sudden brakes and the red traffic light at every junction is enough to drive anyone insane. Don’t get me wrong. As someone who was born and brought up here, I love the city from the depths of my heart. But everyone is unanimous in declaring that the traffic scene is one of the worst in the world.

Last Monday I got home with the stupid idea that I would crank out a brilliant post that my readers would be charmed with. I ended up collapsing on the sofa and sleeping without posting at all. I woke up early this morning only to wonder in horror how easily my life went from do-as-you-please to the 9-6 grind.

Should I be complaining though? Isn’t this part and parcel of “growing up and becoming responsible” that our society expects from every individual? Shouldn’t I be thankful I’m born in a century where I am paid and respected for my work? What good would focusing on the negatives do anyway? Perhaps I’m being the famous fox, declaring the grapes to be sour just because it is out of reach. However, I go to bed hoping every night that the next morning will hold something more than the routine I’m forcing my mind and body to get used to. It is the only way that I’m learning to cope with the inevitability of Mondays.


Thoughts? As usual, the comments section is always open if you want to express them. I’m sorry I’ve been terrible at commenting back. I promise to use that commute time to try and catch up on your blogs soon. Also, if you’re new here, thanks a million for following my blog! πŸ™‚ I crossed the 250 mark without much fanfare, not because I don’t value your readership but because I was too hesitant to make a big deal of it. Please note that I appreciate you spending time going over my blog and deciding it is worth some more.

9 thoughts on “The Inevitability of Mondays

  1. Aww…I’m sorry you’re having a rough time. 😦 I’m sure traffic here is nothing like it is there, but it is one of the most stressful things when you have to deal with it every day. It takes me an hour to get home after work and I can’t help thinking that I could be using that hour to write. πŸ˜€
    There is something about an all-day job that makes you feel like your boxed in. Trapped in a world where your whole day is planned out for you and there isn’t much room for creativity. Like you’re being programed to become a mindless drone.
    Maybe my personality just isn’t the best fit for regular office jobs. But I guess this is why blogging and writing is so important. We need some kind of creative outlet to keep ourselves from feeling like our souls are being sucked out. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ah, you summarised my feelings so well! πŸ˜… No wonder we’re brain twins. πŸ˜‚
      I agree. I’m clinging on to my blogging and writing desperately because my job leaves no space for creative expression. Although it’s an interesting field that I work in, I sometimes wonder if this is the right place for me or if I’d be better off as a full-time creative.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Brain twins are the best! πŸ˜€
        I feel the same way about my job. It’s interesting, and it’s not that I hate it, but I do feel like something is missing. That’s why blogging is so important. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah… Mondays… they’re not my favorite day of the week, either. And that’s after being a part of the working world for 10 years. (Oh my God, I graduated from college 10 years ago?!)

    I agree that Mondays are draining, though. Whether it’s the work you do, the number of hours you put in, the commute (though your commuting situation has given me a whole other perspective on my own), the perpetual game of catch-up we always feel like we’re playing at home… I could go on, but it’s de-energizing to simply think about. But I hear you.

    And I agree with a lot of what Megan said above. In fact, I couldn’t have said the same things better myself. But I’m thankful that I make time for writing and blogging when I can. Because if I didn’t, I’d feel lost. I felt that way before, actually, when I took a couple years off from novel-writing. It’s not a mistake I plan on making again.

    The one thing I will say, if I haven’t said it before, is to take care of yourself. You’re still transitioning into a few routine / major life change, and it’s going to take some time to get used to it. I would never suggest to stop writing, because that would be absolutely demoralizing to tell any writer. But if you’re tired, or if you don’t have the time or energy, then rest. And when you do have the time or energy, then use it wisely. Just be patient, and don’t push yourself too hard.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I definitely agree with what some of the others have said on here. Hopefully you can find some peace of mind and a break in your reading and blogging – I always find jumping into this community and connecting with like minded others during difficult times to be quite a relief. It sure can be hard from the moment you wake up sometimes to get into your routine and get going but you’ve just got to keep in sight all those things you love that do keep you going!

    As someone else said rest is always important! I recently went travelling and decided I needed to break from both writing and blogging because the effort to keep it up and keep up the quality was too hard whilst I was working abroad – and there’s never anything wrong with that! I definitely feel more inspired and refreshed coming back from a solid break that’s for sure 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad your break helped you refresh your mind and get back to blogging and writing with new vigour. I’m so happy you’re posting again! πŸ™‚
      I’m trying to schedule my posts beforehand so I don’t have to work on them when I’m exhausted on weekdays (unlike this one πŸ˜‚). If that’s possible, I’ll do it because blogging means so much to me. If not, I think I’m going to take small breaks till I get adjusted to this new job. Thanks a lot for your advice and concern, Kirstie! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

