The Inspiration Circle – July ’17

Phew! July was perhaps the most difficult month for me, with my writing energy dropping to an all-time low. I do apologise for being erratic with my blogging, but this was a huge change for me and I’m trying (somewhat successfully so far) to not feel guilty about it. I desperately need a boost of inspiration to lift me from my gloom and I’m so glad I had the foresight to make The Inspiration Circle a monthly series.

Inspiration

The Quote

Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about.

– Natalie Goldberg

I had made a habit of writing in the evenings on the day I posted and it has served me well in the past. Now I come home exhausted every day, with all the positivity drained out of me. I’m afraid to write about how I’m feeling because it’s frustrating and gets boring after a while. It also only serves to fuel my negativity. I choose not to write at all instead. But perhaps, maybe occasionally, refusing to acknowledge these and not talking about them will get too stifling to control, so I must pour my feelings onto the paper, just like Natalie Goldberg has advised.

The Article

The only progress I made in my writing this month was to realise that my lack of planning is getting me nowhere. I failed Camp NaNoWriMo miserably, with zero words written towards my goal of 5,000. If you’re a regular here, you know that I’ve been feeling this way since May and nothing has been helpful so far. I came across this while trying to find a solution to my problem.

How to Develop a Writing Plan by Cris Freese from Writer’s Digest.

The Talk

I’ve been recommended Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and I’ve heard it is full of encouragement for creative people. On a whim, I googled her and came across this video. As I’m a huge fan of TED talks, I knew I just had to include this in my July Inspiration post. It provides a fresh perspective on creativity that sparked off a bunch of thoughts that I’m hoping to discuss in the future. I hope you glean something from it even though you may not agree with her.

General Inspiration

3f26696a4f57e8aa7229074739accb81-positive-things-positive-outlook

This is a habit I’m trying to cultivate. I’m planning to get a journal so I can log the happy moments of the day and I look at the wonderful things I get to see on my commute rather than fret over the horrible traffic. I hope this reminds you to develop that mindset as well.


In other news, July has been an exceedingly good reading month for me, especially the past week. I managed to read 7 books in as many days and I’ve totally finished 69 books this year against my goal of 70. If that’s made you curious, check out this post on my book blog that talks about my best reading week so far. I hope you had a lovely July and have a better time in August! 🙂

[Note: My blog has reached 300 followers and I’m so grateful to all of my new readers for supporting me even as I was going through a dry spell, so to speak.]

8 thoughts on “The Inspiration Circle – July ’17

  1. Hey! Wow, I feel like we’ve been in the exact same boat. Ever since May, with the semester ending, a trip to New Zealand, coming back to work and then right into the intensity of summer camp, my mood and my writing have both suffered. A lot. I hadn’t worked on my novel since May, also failed Camp NaNo horribly (also 0 words), and just last night started even thinking about writing again. I kept a brief journal because I had to write something, but that was all.

    I’m glad I found your post now! I feel the same way when I’m blogging and life is tough. I feel like I’m feeding the wrong beast when I’m honest about how I feel, but if I don’t I can’t write anything. Thank you thank you for the inspiration! I hope we both find our feet!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely understand how you’re feeling at the moment, Audra. It is very difficult to get back into the groove again, especially when it’s been long and you feel like you’ve forgotten what you used to do before you stopped. I’m participating in a writing challenge in August (hosted by a blogger and with a partner so I have more accountability), so I hope that will help me. I think I’ll blog my progress just to motivate myself to do better.
      I’m so glad you found this helpful! 🙂 The only intention behind this is to inspire me and other writers who are in the same situation as us. Your comment made my day! 😁

      Like

  2. I think writing how you feel would be more helpful than not. Maybe more as a journal entry than a blog post; something that intimate is sometimes best left for your eyes only. But it gives you a chance to release everything you’ve been holding in, and then seeing it written on the page can help you make more sense of it – or at the very least, feel better about it. So yes, definitely take Natalie Goldberg’s advice when you have a chance. Sooner might be better, actually.

    And yes to the happiness / gratitude journaling, too. As someone whose bedtime routine involves either verbalizing or writing down one thing I’m grateful for each day, I can’t tell you how much adopting that one seemingly small habit has changed my life. 🙂

    Thanks, btw, for indirectly reminding me that I still need to read Writing Down the Bones. 😉 And I’ll definitely watch the Elizabeth Gilbert video when I have a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, you’re welcome (about that reminder). 😀 I just finished The Magic by Rhonda Byrne that highlights gratitude as a practice. I tried it today and I honestly had the best day ever! I didn’t even write anything down (although I want to because I want to remember), I just felt it really intensely in the morning and I had a magically perfect day. 😀
      Do check out the video when you have the time. I don’t know if what she said overlaps with the content of Big Magic, but it was so different from how I usually think about the creative process that I just had to share. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

