The Journey Ahead

It’s only been 8 months since I started this blog and I decided to enroll in the Blogging 101 course offered by the nice folks over at Blogging U. to help my fledgling blog grow. They gave me an assignment to introduce myself to the world, talk about what I’ve done so far and hope to do in the future with this blog. I decided to slightly veer off topic and talk about goals in general.

When 2016 came along, I made a list of 15 things I wanted to do this year and I’ve put it up where I can see it often. I’ve never felt compelled to do it before. I was more the kind of person who hardly plans and does things on a whim. Perhaps interacting with people who have well-defined goals and are passionately working towards it gave me the initial nudge. It’s too soon to say for sure if it’s helping me get closer to achieving my goals.

One of the blogs here woke something in me – the desire to actually sit down and write the novel I’ve been planning since I was eight. I have an incomplete first draft of that epic novel languishing in the depths of my laptop, the product of my only successful NaNoWriMo in 2014. I haven’t even glanced at it since then because the story has changed so drastically in my head that it’s no longer relevant. I don’t know what to do with that currently, but I do hope to have a first draft with a lot more than the stipulated 50,000 words by the end of this year.

Writing is a skill that can be polished only through constant practice, which brings me to my next goal of writing every day. This blog was expressly created to help me with that. Putting my words out there constantly and getting honest feedback is all I want through it. I rarely have time to connect with other bloggers and interact through comments and I’m hoping Blogging 101 (and the subsequent courses I’m planning to take up with Blogging U.) will push me to do that more often.

With the promise of writing so much, reading can’t be far behind. I have challenged myself to read 50 books in 2016. I haven’t read excessively over the last three years and I was scared I couldn’t get back to my reading habit. Turns out my apprehension was unnecessary – the bookworm in me is still very much alive.Β Four days into the new year and I’m already done with a book, leaving me hungry for more.

IMG_20151227_174122184.jpg

I’d love to hear from my readers. Leave a comment if you want to share just about anything.

9 thoughts on “The Journey Ahead

  1. That’s so great that you are inspired to write that novel you’ve been dreaming of. I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo before, but even though I wrote the 50,000 words, I never went back and revised it to make it something readable. So, that’s as close to writing a novel as I’ve got.
    I’ve challenged myself to read 50 books this year too! πŸ˜€

    Like

      • Sure, I’d love to have you as a writing buddy! I will definitely be doing NaNo again this year. Never give up! πŸ™‚ Actually, I’m going to do Camp NaNo to, which is in April. Why wait all the way until November to get some writing motivation?
        Anyway, my name on the site is invisibleworld
        See ya there!

        Like

  2. Some of my goals for 2016 are found here https://4unansweredprayers.wordpress.com/2016/01/14/musing-on-a-thursday/

    Like you I have been blogging for a while now but haven’t taken it seriously (that’s about to change though).
    I did enroll in few Blogging University courses but can’t wrap my fingers around them but who says it will be easy .

    My hope is when 2016 take a walk,we will be glad looking at our goals with pride because we have achieved them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

